Full scale Iris

Document your build here! Big or small, simple or complex.
SMS Engineering

Full scale Iris

Postby SMS Engineering » Thu Dec 31, 2015 8:50 pm

So I have been slowing down in the hobby for a few years now , and I haven't built a rocket of any real size. It is time to fix this . This will be a slow build , several months I'm guessing .

I am resurrecting and finishing the CTRA club project from 2005 . We wanted to build a full scale two stage Iris . The booster was going to be boosting on 7 38 mm DPS J2000 motors , staging to a 20k 4.5 inch N1000 AN motor .

My main goal on this rocket is to build it as light as possible , with a full up weight of both stages on the pad , of less then 50 lbs . The sustainer will be the bulk of the weight at about 35/38 pounds . It will house a center 75mm and 4 outboard 38mm mounts . The booster will have 7 38mm mounts . Both stages are being built as main deploy , but the upper will have a AARD mounting setup installed .

The fins have been started , and weigh in at just over 1.3 pounds each. They are 1 inch blue foam hot wired and sanded to scale , with 4 layers of 5 oz sglass . I need to trim the fin tabs to its final length . They where made long on purpose to leave motor mount options open . I'm hoping to get each fin to right around 1.1 pounds each . The main construction of both stages will be 2 part 2lb density foam sprayed over a stuffer tube inner skeleton . The fins will be removable for transport and storage .

The rocket will be cut to shape with a hot wire cutter . The centering rings will act as a form for the wire to run on . Once cut , the foam will receive a layer of glass sock . The upper nose cone will get reinforced with two layers of glass to aid in landing damage .